All about that bass review

Hey guys, I made a deal with myself to blog more so this blog is my review on the song ‘All about that bass’ by ‘Meghan Trainor. This blog post kind of relates to my previous post about skinny shaming. Here are the lyrics for the song:

Because you know
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I’m supposed to do
‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places

I see the magazine workin’ that Photoshop
We know that shit ain’t real
C’mon now, make it stop
If you got beauty, beauty, just raise ’em up
‘Cause every inch of you is perfect
From the bottom to the top

Yeah, my mama she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”
You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll
So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

Because you know I’m
All about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass
Hey!

I’m bringing booty back
Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that
No, I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat
But I’m here to tell ya
Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top

Yeah my mama she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”
You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll
So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

Because you know I’m
All about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass

Because you know I’m
All about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass

Because you know I’m
All about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass
‘Bout that bass, ’bout that bass
Hey, hey, ooh
You know you like this bass

Okay so I am not going to lie I like the tune of the song but it was the lyrics that annoyed me the most. I picked up on a few ‘digs’ in this song that I wanted to point out:

  • ‘Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two, But I can shake it, shake it, like I’m supposed to do’By saying like she’s supposed to, makes it seem like she’s saying her body type is the correct body type for women.Here I feel like she is also shaming size two girls (UK size 6)
  • ‘cause every inch of you is perfect, from the bottom to the top’It seems like now she is empowering all women and all body types, which is a good thing
  • ‘Boys like a little more booty to hold at night’I’ve noticed recently a couple of artists have embraced and flaunted their booty. I mean there is nothing wrong with it and its great that Jennifer Lopez, Nicki Minaj and Meghan Trainor are empowering women and their booties. However I think Meghan And Nicki should try and do so without making other women feel insecure/self-conscious.
  • ‘Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that, no, I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat’Ermm, not every skinny/slim girl thinks she’s fatReferring to girls as skinny bitches then say she’s ‘just playing’ is rude!It’s a double standard, hypothetically if an artist referred to girls in their song as fat bitches it would be another story and that artist would get slated but when it comes to skinny girls it seems like it’s swept under the rug and that it is acceptable.

Nevertheless after analysing the song I felt like there was a dig at slimmer girls, so I decided to see what Meghan had said about her song after it being released.

In an interview with The Guardian when asked about whether skinny girls have the right junk Meghan said:

“Skinny girls sure do. Any body type is beautiful. It’s all about loving what you got and rocking it.”

The interviewer then asked Meghan if she was still getting criticism for allegedly “shaming” thin women and she replied:

“Yeah, I’m still getting flak. It’ll come for as long as the song lives, but for the most part people are relating to the self-acceptance part of it, which is amazing, because that was my point.”

After reading her interview I still feel like she shamed slim girls even though her message was to help women embrace who they are. I think that there is nothing wrong with empowering and uplifting different body types however it’s wrong to shame and put down other body types just to make yours seem better.

I think artists like Nicki Minaj and Meghan Trainor are great at empowering and boosting women’s confidence, but only for women who can relate to their songs by having big booties and not being ‘skinny’. I think those artists should take into consideration that it’s good to empower women but even better to empower women without having to shame other women while doing it.

The Guardian Interview with Meghan Trainor

Eden xoxo

Leave a Reply

