Skinny Shaming to feel better?

Arghh! Okay this is issue annoys me more than most things. I hate when people shame other body types. I don’t understand it, does it make people feel better about themselves?

I don’t know whether people feel that it is okay to skinny shame more because society makes out that everyone wants to be skinny, which is in fact wrong. It is however offensive that people do it. I have always been slim and it’s annoying when people say – ‘Oh you’re so skinny’ or ‘You should put on some weight’. If I said to someone ‘’Oh you’re so fat’ or ‘You should lose weight’ people would judge me more than if someone said something to someone slim.

It’s bad enough that we all have our own insecurities and flaws and it does not help when a friend or someone you know points out a flaw of yours. The other day this girl at my uni tweeted how she was looking for clothes on a website and they only have sizes 6 and 8, she then went on to say ‘has designers ever heard of real women who are size 12+’. I don’t know whether she didn’t think before she tweeted or whether she is just ignorant but that statement annoyed me. I tweeted her back explaining that real women come in different shapes and sizes, but she ignored my comment and went to say that in the UK size 12 is the average size for women. Even though this may be truth from her response I came to the conclusion that she is just ignorant.

I noticed it is not just people we know who shame different body types but also celebrities. In Nicki Minaj’s song Anaconda, although it’s a good song she says some shameful lyrics:

‘Because he don’t like ‘em boney, he want something he can grab’

‘Fuck those skinny bitches, fuck those skinny bitches in the club, I wanna see all the big fat ass bitches in the motherfucking club, fuck you if you skinny bitches. What? Yeah!’

I think as a female and someone in the public eye Nicki Minaj should have lyrics that are less shameful and more empowering. If an artist made a song that shamed fat people it would be all over the media but because it’s skinny shaming no one seems to have even noticed. I think it is a double standard in this society. I don’t understand why girls have to degrade or put other girls down to make themselves feel better.

Girls and this society need to understand that everyone feels self-conscious about something but by shaming people and pointing out peoples flaws it’s not helping anyone, it’s just making you look ignorant and rude. I think female artists should create empowering songs for women instead of making them feel insecure.

For anyone who feels insecure or self-conscious you should listen to Flawless by Beyonce. It really is an empowering song and other artists should take some inspiration.

Eden xoxo

Leave a Reply

